Charlestown Township Home Brightside Farm
Agendas Boards Calendar Taxes
Minutes Open Records Ordinances & Codes Permits & Forms

Stormwater Management Program

In 2003, Charlestown Township was designated a Small Municipal Storm Sewer System (MS4) under the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection’s (DEP) National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) General Permit regulations.

These state regulations require Charlestown Township to implement and enforce its own Stormwater Management Program. The Township follows DEP protocols which provide our township with suitable guidelines to design a local program that address the DEP’s six Best Management Practices (BMPs), which are also known as “control measures.”

The six BMPs are designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants from MS4s, to the maximum extent practicable, to protect water quality, and to satisfy the appropriate requirements of the federal Clean Water Act. These six BMP categories are:

  1. Public Education & Outreach Control Measure
  2. Public Participation & Involvement Control Measure
  3. Illicit Discharge Detection & Elimination Control Measure
  4. Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control Measure
  5. Post Construction Stormwater Management in New Development & Redevelopment Control Measure
  6. Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations and Maintenance Control Measure.

If anyone is seeking information or has issues regarding stormwater, please contact either:

  • Linda M. Csete, Township Manager, (610) 240-0326
  • Daniel T. Wright, P.E., Township Engineer, 610) 840-9100

Please visit the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) Stormwater Management Program Website, go to directLINK “stormwater” for additional details and technical information on this topic at the state level.

Emergencies and Water Quality

Stormwater Education

Useful materials on stormwater. They are also available upon request from the Township Office.

Additional information is available from:

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Annual Reports:

New postings for 2014:

New postings for 2015:

Revised: March 25, 2016.

Charlestown Township, 4030 Whitehorse Road, P.O. Box 507, Devault, PA 19432
Phone: (610) 240-0326